The CATcher in the Rye

Book Review:


The Catcher in the Rye

This book is one of the frequently challenged book of 20th century for the use of profanity and portrayal of sexuality and teenage angst.

The Catcher in the Rye

Now, I’d like to present my own reasons why I liked this book.

Mr. J. D. Salinger has done an excellent job in writing this book. I don’t know why but as far as my survey is concerned, everybody agreed that at some point of time, he felt like the protagonist of the story. So did I. This is the most important part of the book that I liked. This is that book which shows you the dark side of yourself. By dark side I mean that part which we cannot speak out loudly in public. This boy Holden Caulfield, is a very intelligent fellow, but he’s afraid of many things in life. He keeps on calling everybody a “phony”, “bastard”, “goddam” and all that. He’s not a bad guy. He’s just afraid. But he can’t express the inside feelings. He thinks he’s alone. He hates everything. Such a condition occurs to many of us. Its a psychological state when one is very frustrated or disappointed with something or someone. All of my friends (who have read this book) have agreed that there came one such moment when the felt the same thing.

Now, lets come to the name of the book. At first, I too thought what does the name mean? But after reading the book, I realized that it’s name couldn’t be apt. This guy feels that he’s the one sitting on a mountain cliff, hidden in the Rye, trying to save children who might fall down. Hence he is the Catcher In The Rye. But after sometime he realizes that he’s the one who is going to fall down. He’s no Catcher in the Rye.

I must say, one (above 18 years of age) must read this book at least once in one’s lifetime. This book is something different. A new genre.

My Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

